Paul John Murdoch

Paul John Murdoch, Partner

Paul John Murdoch is a partner and the founder of the law firm Murdoch Archambault. Member of the Cree Nation of Quebec, Me Murdoch became the first of his nation to be called to the Quebec Bar. Since his admission in 2001, he has learned to weave the lessons and values of his native ancestry into his legal practice in Northern Quebec. He presently holds the position of Secretary of the Cree Nation Government. He acted as an ambassador for his people and community to the European Parliament, the United Nations Organization and the National Assembly of Quebec. Me Murdoch speaks Cree, English, French and Spanish. His practice is located in Wemindji, James Bay. As a licensed pilot, he is able to meet with clients and partners throughout Northern Quebec.

In addition to Aboriginal law, he practices corporate and administrative law. He acts as a legal advisor for several aboriginal organizations. He has conducted major negotiations involving hydroelectric, mining, wind energy and forestry developments. In 2002, he participated in negotiations that led to the Agreement Respecting a New Relationship Between the Cree Nation and the Government of Quebec (known as the Paix des Braves), managing the hydroelectricity component of the talks.

He was the president of a major aboriginal financial consortium which awarded over 600 million dollars in construction contracts. Me Murdoch was responsible for establishing the Niskamoon Corporation, which organizes concrete development activities in Northern Quebec and plays an important role in environmental monitoring programs for hydroelectric projects.

He also contributed to successful conclusion of a collaboration agreement between the Cree Nation of Wemindji, the Cree Nation Government and the mining company Goldcorp, following negotiations concerning the development of the Eleonore project in Wemindji.

Me Murdoch works to promote conciliation among different groups. He founded a partnership between the Cree and the Ngöbé-Buglé people of Panama through a solar energy project.

He collaborated with the World Bank to improve its internal regulations regarding Aboriginal peoples. He also engaged in discussions with the Inter-American Development Bank. Finally, Me Murdoch recently participated in improving a community development program in the context of a large-scale oil project in the Sakhalin Islands in Russia.

In the summer of 2007, Me Murdoch taught the course “Aboriginal Law on Cree Territory” for the Civil Law Section of the University of Ottawa’s Faculty of Law. This summer course focused on the Cree Nation’s internal laws, how these modern government laws manifest themselves and how relationships are developed with respect to them.

Outside of his law practice,Paul John Murdoch is a professional artist, known for his large portraits and murals. His most recent works of art are on display in the conference room of his Montreal office, as well as in the Aboriginal Peoples Committee Room of the Senate of Canada in Ottawa.

  1. 1
    Curriculum Vitæ

    Areas of Practice

    Corporate law
    Business law
    Administrative law
    Aboriginal law

    Education

    Member of the Quebec Bar, Montreal section, since 2001.
    B.C.L.-LL.B., McGill University, 2000.

    Languages

    Cree
    French
    English
    Spanish

Paul John Murdoch

Me Paul John Murdoch, avocat associé

Me Paul John Murdoch est associé et fondateur du cabinet Murdoch Archambault. Membre de la Nation crie du Québec, Me Murdoch figure comme le premier représentant de sa nation à être membre du Barreau du Québec. Admis au Barreau du Québec en 2001, il a su intégrer les enseignements et les valeurs de son ascendance autochtone dans sa pratique juridique dans le Nord québécois. Il occupe aujourd’hui le poste de Secrétaire du Gouvernement de la Nation Crie et a été ambassadeur de son Peuple et de ses communautés auprès du Parlement Européen, l’Organisation des Nations Unies et à l’Assemblée nationale du Québec. Me Murdoch s’exprime en cri, anglais, français et espagnol et a sa place d’affaires à Wemindji, Baie James. Étant pilote, il est en mesure de rencontrer ses clients et partenaires à travers tout le Nord du Québec.

Outre le droit autochtone, il pratique dans les domaines du droit des affaires et du droit administratif. Il agit comme conseiller juridique auprès de plusieurs sociétés autochtones. Il a orchestré d’importantes négociations impliquant des développements hydroélectriques, miniers, éoliens et forestiers. En 2002, il a participé aux négociations qui ont menées à l’entente de La Paix des Braves, il y gérait le volet hydroélectrique des pourparlers.

Il a été président d’un important consortium financier autochtone qui a conduit à l’exécution de plus de 600 millions de dollars en contrats de construction. Me Murdoch est responsable de la mise sur pieds de la Société Niskamoon qui organise des actions concrètes de développement dans le Nord du Québec et joue un rôle important dans les programmes de suivis environnementaux des projets hydroélectriques.

Il a de plus, contribué à la conclusion d’un pacte de collaboration entre la Nation Crie de Wemindji, le Gouvernement de la Nation Crie et la compagnie minière Goldcorp suite à des négociations concernant le développement du projet Éléonore, à Wemindji.

Me Murdoch travaille à la conciliation de différents groupes. Il a fondé un partenariat entre les peuples Cri et Ngöbé-Buglé du Panama par un projet d’énergie solaire.

Il a travaillé en collaboration avec la Banque Mondiale en vue d’améliorer ses règles internes à l’égard des autochtones. Il a également entretenu des échanges avec la Banque Interaméricaine de Développements. Enfin, Me Murdoch a récemment participé à l’amélioration d’un programme de développement communautaire dans le cadre d’un projet pétrolier de grande envergure aux iles Sakhaline en Russie.

À l’été 2007, Me Murdoch a enseigné le droit autochtone en territoire cri pour la Section de droit civil de la Faculté de droit de l’Université d’Ottawa. Ce cours d’été se concentre sur les lois internes de la nation crie et la manifestation de ces lois modernes gouvernementales et du développement des relations à cet égard.

Outre la pratique du droit, Paul John Murdoch est un artiste de carrière qui se démarque par ses immenses portraits et murales. Ses plus récentes œuvres peuvent être admirées dans la salle de conférence du bureau de Montréal ainsi que dans la salle des Peuples autochtones au Sénat du Canada à Ottawa.

  1. 1
    Curriculum Vitæ

    Champs de pratique

    Droit corporatif
    Droit des affaires
    Droit administratif
    Droit autochtone

    Formation

    Membre du Barreau du Québec, section de Montréal, depuis 2001.
    B.C.L.-LL.B. Université McGill, 2000.

    Langues

    Cri
    Français
    Anglais
    Espagnol